Youth Counsellor

Discussion in 'Disney Cruise Line Discussion' started by hales, Mar 19, 2006.

1. hales

hales New Member

Hi

I have just had a job offer as a youth counsellor with Disney Cruise Line. I have never worked on a cruise ship before so I am new to this. Has anybody got any advise about this job or working for Disney Cruise's???

I have loads of questions but what I really want to know is when I get to go? am I going to have to wait ages?? :mad:

Any advice or things I need to know will be appreciated.

Thanks Hales

2. Ona

Ona Member

Hiya! Congratualtions! :) When did you find out? Were you at the London interviews/ I know alot of other folks find out the results of their interviews this week.

To answer your question, you could be waiting days, you could be waiting months. :-\

I guess you said you could go asap. In that case, it all depends on how and when positions become available and also how many other folks are on the list before you (don't ask me how the order of that list is determined. I really haven't a clue).

You can usually start your poilce check as soon as you have been accepted but you can't do the medical until DCL gives you the go ahead. You then can't book your visa until you have had your medical and DCL have the results. So that whole process in itself can take a good few weeks. Some folks however, have had that process expedited if DCL urgently need you for a position.

This is from a UK perspective mind you (through International Services). I guess if you are not in Europe, the experience may vary. :-\

So all in all, there's really no way to know when you will be going. :-\ I interviewed last October, was accepted a week later, and have been waiting ever since. Still not able to do the medical or visa process and still no departure date on the horizon. But that doesn't mean your experience will be the same. It seems that everyone's experience is different.

Ona x

3. hales

hales New Member

Ona