Moving to USA permanently - anybody thought about it/tried it?

Discussion in 'Alumni Discussion' started by T-i-double gr-er, Nov 9, 2011.

1. T-i-double gr-er

T-i-double gr-er New Member

Obviously I know that if I get onto the CRP, I have to return home at the end of my J-1 Visa contract. Although I would like to work at Disney for longer than the year, I know it's very unlikely for an international to acquire a Visa for that (unless there is a huge stroke of luck).

I would however like to look into moving out to Florida permanently not too long after returning to the UK after my J-1 runs out (assuming I get onto the CRP!) Have any CRP alumnis thought about this/attempted it/succeeded? If so, how? I know that they like immigrants to have a degree, and I have a History degree which might work in my favour. If I found a job which my degree would be useful in, would I be likely to get an H1b Employment Visa if the prosepective employer funded it? Could I even start looking for some longer-term jobs in the Central Florida region as I come towards the end of my Disney contract?

I just want to get out there permanently really.

2. roxy84

roxy84 New Member

There is a couple threads on here with info on immigrating to the US. You are not alone in wanting to move to the US. Many people here would love to move to Florida and work for Disney forever, myself included.

Basically there are a few ways, all which are very difficult.

1st- enter the green card lottery (which is limited to countries that have less then 50,000 immigrants/year to US I believe). So there are a few countries that cannot enter into the lottery (Canada & the UK for sure). This is a lottery system, and they amount of green cards are limited. I know an Aussie who was lucky and got it. I believe you have to move to the US within 3 years of getting it.